Piano Sonata No. 1 "Nostalgia for the Children"

Piano Sonata No. 1 "Nostalgia for the Children"

Regular price $15.50 CAD

composer: Mikel Bell

Duration: 21:00

piano solo

At times reminiscent of Ginastera, Stravinsky, or Milhaud, but always wholly original.  This piece was written as a tribute to Mikel's three children.  Each of the first three movements bears a child's name (I. Judah, II. Josiah, and III. Rachel) and represents the personality of each child. The fourth movement, Kids at Play, incorporates themes, motives, and sections from the first three, seamlessly blended and combined in various creative ways to portray the children playing together.  Dramatic, playful, harmonically fascinating and virtuosic.