The Gardener

The Gardener

Regular price $15.00 CAD

composer: Richard Nye

duration: 3:00

Oboe, violin, cello

The Gardener was written in 2011 and is based on a print of the same name by British artist Eric James Mellon. Eric had just completed his latest book, 65 Years of Printmaking, and this piece was composed to mark not only the launching of the book, but also the opening of an exhibition of Eric's work in Chichester, West Sussex. The music attempts to set the calm pastoral scene, and then bursts into a flurry of activity as the gardeners set to work. Richard Nye wrote the piece for three of his students, Polly (oboe), Helena (violin) and Harry (cello). They premiered the work at a small concert in Dorset. The piece was then performed by music students from the University of Chichester at the opening of Eric's exhibition.