This Marvellous Machine

This Marvellous Machine

Regular price $8.50

composer: Richard Nye

Duration: 4:35

Piano (8 hands)

This piece for 8 hands at one piano was commissioned by the British pianist Nadia Lasserson for four of her pupils, who, using the work, became the eventual winners in the ensemble category of the Jaques Samuel piano competition in 2013. It was performed at Wigmore Hall, London, in November of the same year. The piece was also featured at the 2015 Summer School for Pianists "Piano Now!" concert. The work was inspired by an idea of the composer’s daughter (later written as a story) of a strange and wonderful machine, discovered by chance in an old abandoned workshop. It is not clear what the machine is for, but what is obvious, is that it is still functioning after many years.